Last month, President Kuan, 863 other delegates, and about 2500 visitors gathered in St. Louis, MO for a special called session of the General Conference of The United Methodist Church. The purpose of the gathering was to forge a way forward for a divided church – specifically as related to the UMC’s LGBTQIA community. The results of that conference have many Methodists questioning the future of the church and their place in it. For the #CSTToolBox, we have gathered a number of statements from around the country in response – including President Kuan’s statement.


CST’s Board of Trustees President, Rev. Patricia Farris, echoed President Kuan, saying:

“As the president of CST’s Board of Trustees and a Cal-Pac delegate to the General Conference, I share President Kuan’s sentiments and want to assure our students, alumni/ae, and constituents, that we at CST remain unwavering in our commitment to the LGBTQIA community.  Though we fell just short of winning the vote, a new UMC was born in St. Louis, with broad support from across the US, Europe and the Philippines. We pledge to continue our efforts – supported by our Western Jurisdiction and our WJ bishops, active and retired – to seize the moment and work together to live and serve as God’s Beloved Community of faith, hope, and promise.”


Find here the links to several seminaries, Willamette University, and other prominent Methodist individuals and boards:


The Bishops of the Western Jurisdiction

The General Board of Church and Society

The General Commission on Religion and Race

Rev. Patricia Farris, CST Board of Trustees Chair

Bishop Grant Hagiya, ’77 and ‘78

Rev. Adam Hamilton

Bishop Robert Hoshibata, ‘77

Rev. Will Willimon

Boston University School of Theology

Candler School of Theology

Claremont School of Theology

Drew University Theological School

Duke Divinity School

Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary

Iliff School of Theology

Methodist Theological School in Ohio

Perkins School of Theology

Saint Paul School of Theology

United Theological Seminary

Wesley Theological Seminary

Willamette University